Four new Councillors were sworn in at the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa, each for a four-year term.

At a virtual ceremony presided over by Judge Thokozile Masipa, Councillors Thabisa Faye, Cathrine Mushi, Nompucuko Nontombana, and Ntombiza Sithole took the Oath of Office, pledging to serve the South African people, the ICT sector and the public interest with integrity and probity, and in accordance with their mandate as enshrined in the Constitution and the ICASA Act.

The four Councillors join the Authority following their appointment by the Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies, Hon. Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, as published in the Government Gazette on October 31, 2022. This brings the total number of Councillors to eight (8).

On behalf of the entire organisation, it gives me great pleasure to welcome the appointment of the new members to the ICASA Council.  Their arrival will serve to greatly strengthen the work of the Authority as it regulates the ICT sector:  telecommunications, broadcasting and postal services.  We look forward to their collective contribution, to collaborate with them and to learn from the wealth of experience and expertise that each individual Council member brings to the governing collective of the Authority..The appointment of the new Councillors exemplifies our commitment to promote gender equality and the active participation of women at all levels of the ICT sector, including at the level of policy and regulation.Dr Charley Lewis, Acting Chairperson, ICASA

Councillors Mushi and Nontombana commenced their term of office today, while Councillors Faye and Sithole will commence theirs on 01 December 2022.